The Most Annoying Text’s


I have a big love/hate relationship with texting.  Sometimes it can be super convenient, can’t-live-without-it convenient. Especially with your best friends and family members.

When it comes to dating, I find it frustrating.  Especially when you’re dealing with a guy who sucks at texting.  Believe me, there are plenty of them out there, and I’ve dealt with a few. There are few things more grating than getting annoying texts from a guy you like and having no idea what’s going on between you both. That being said, here are some examples of the most annoying texts guys send and tips on how I have learnt to deal with them and respond.

The One-Sided Text Conversation:  This is the guy who texts you first, yet never has anything to say. You try to have a conversation, and you all get is short answers with no reply questions at the end of his text.  So you barely know how to respond to what his said.  He’s normally boring in texts, but he’s different in person where conversation comes so easily and you hope the date never comes to an end since his so entertaining.

How To Respond:  I’ve been in this situation.  If the guys stinks at texting but is great in person, maybe stop texting so much.  If you really want to text, you can ask questions and do all the work.  Your best bet is to just not talk about anything substantial via text and keep it to phone calls and in person conversations.

The Vague Blowing You Off Text:  Few things are worse than when you finally make plans with a guy you are dating and then he blows you off with a vague excuse at the last-minute.  It’s not usually a good sign when this happens.

How To Respond: If you want to try again, respond with a solid answer like, “That’s cool! Are you free Thursday?” If you just say, “Can we reschedule?” he’ll most likely continue being vague.  If you give him a specific date, you have a better chance of making new plans.  If his answer to that is vague ( i.e. “maybe), let it go. He’s probably not interested and you shouldn’t be either.

The One Worded Text: I would expect this type of text from my father. Similar to the one-sided conversation guy, one word texts are the worst.  What makes this different is that he doesn’t try to initiate a conversation AT ALL.  You’re the one texting him first, and this is how he responds.  If it sounds like he’s disinterested, it’s probably because he is.  Why are you texting him first anyway?

How To Respond: Back off a little bit. If he never texts you first and only gives you one word responses when you text him, try ignoring him for a while.  If he wants to talk, he’ll text you.  If he doesn’t, he won’t.  Then you will have your answer.

how-to-sext-29128

The Unwanted Sext:  All I want to do is have a nice conversation with a guy I like, and this is what I get.  No, you don’t want to send a pic.

How To Respond:  Unwanted sexts need to be dealt with firmly and quickly.  You don’t want to play it like you’ll do it one day, he’ll never leave you alone.  I’ve started saying something like, “If you want to see me, you’ll have to see me in person.” Or you can be honest and say something like, “Sorry buddy, not gonna happen!”, this response generally gets them off your back never to be heard from again.  Also I’ve started sending pictures of my dog his just as cute as me.

text2-576x1024
Must be a trait that all Michael’s are clingy. “Personal Joke”

The Clingy Text:  A nice guy turns awful when he gets super clingy and needy. If he won’t let you go five minutes without answering, its annoying.

How To Respond: I honestly can’t be involved with guys who are clingy, I’m not that type of girl. I don’t feel I need to explain myself to them either. When guys do this to me, I would respond when I was ready with, “What’s so important?” rather than a response to the many texts.   It generally gets the message across you’re a little annoyed.  If he keeps up the clingy texting, have a conversation about it with him.  You also have the choice of ending things and backing off altogether.  It is not behaviour you want to put up with.

The Booty Call Text:  Don’t mistake an 11:30pm “come over” text for an “I want to be your boyfriend” text.  If he never asks you to hang except after 9pm, he’s looking for a booty call.

How To Respond: If you’re cool with just a hookup, go for it!  There’s nothing wrong with that.  If you’re looking for something more serious, respond by saying ‘no’ nicely – even though I know that’s going to be hard (really hard since his so hot!).  Example, “I can’t right now, but let’s do something Saturday :-)” and make sure your plans are not beginning late at night.

No Response At All: Ah! The no response-r. These are no fun at all.

How To Deal with the situation:  You don’t want to be like clingy guy I wrote about above.  If a guy simply stops answering you out of nowhere, you have one choice: you can start ignoring him yourself .  Don’t send question marks or more texts asking where he is, if something is wrong.  He’s obviously not worth it.

Last but not least – The Guy who Never Ask You on a Date Text: This guy checks in with you once or twice a week, even once a month.  But, when was the last time you saw him face-to-face.  Sometimes its the guy you are dating and see every now and then, only because you initiate the date conversation.

How to Respond:  I’ve given up on many of the above time of guys.  I’ve reached my 30’s, playing games is so much effort, especially when I have Netflix to fill the void.  If you’re responding its because your into him.  Guys, if you’d like to take a girl on a date. Its simple, just ask “Would you like to go on a date together?” and have an idea for a date before you ask. Girls like a guy with confidence and who has a plan.  It might seem old-fashioned, it worked in the 1920’s and it’s going to work in 2015.

Good Luck in the dating world, and remember “Always be nice!”.

Mars On Life.