First Light


Under my sleeping mask my eyes slowly open at 5.54am, gently pushing the mask up to my forehead my first thought was how well I slept last night.

A drug induced sleep it was, I would now spend the day drowsy, eyes flickering and squinting, but at least I slept for more than 5 hours of the night.  Many morning these last few week’s I’ve been awaking up between 2 – 4 A.M.  How nice would it be to sleep an entire night of blissful dreams.  I’ve been reading many tips about getting back to sleep, I’ve begun practicing a few. For example: Leave your bed and go do something not overly stimulating. I’ve read a good chunk of the books I own. A terrible habit of reading 3 books at once has dwindled down to one remaining book.

When the first light whispers through the kitchen window I go back up to my bed, place the sleeping mask over my eyes, and rest before a 6am alarm will announce the beginning of yet another long day awake.

I can’t remember when I last got a good nights sleep.  I’m not counting a drug induced sleep either, my body is then completely knocked around for a day or two. A good nights sleep is when you fall into bed and sleep without assistance and wake up refreshed. With out a good nights rest I’m finding my day-to-day life a little over whelming.  I’m trying to make my way through a fuzzy world each day.  I can’t concentrate, my appetite and cravings have increased, with poor decision-making skills.  When I’m exceptionally tired , it doesn’t take much to set me off.  Situations that normally would be manageable for me, are suddenly much more irritating.

Monday the 3rd of March I plan to take some tips I’ve read and implement them into my life for a better nights sleep:

  • Set a regular sleep and wake schedule of Sleep 9:00 P.M. Wake 5.00 A.M. : It is important to keep a regular bedtime and wake-time, even on the weekends when there is the temptation to sleep in.
  • Establish a regular, relaxing bedtime routine such as reading a book, enjoying a hot bath or sitting on the floor of a hot shower.
  • Create a sleep-conducive environment that is dark, quiet, comfortable and cool.  Consider using blackout curtains, eye shades, ear plugs, fans and other devices.
  • Use my bedroom only for sleep and sex to strengthen the association between bed and sleep.
  • Finish eating at least 2-3 hours before your regular bedtime.  It is best to avoid a heavy meal too close to bedtime.  Try to restrict fluids close to bedtime to prevent nighttime awakenings to go to the bathroom, though some people find milk to be soothing and a helpful part of a bedtime routine.
  • Exercise regularly. It is best to complete your workout at least a few hours before bedtime. In general, exercising regularly makes it easier to fall asleep and contributes to sounder sleep.  Finish my exercise at least 3 hours before bedtime. Late afternoon exercise is the perfect way to help you fall asleep at night.

Here’s to an improved nights sleep, and possible enlightening dreams 😉

Mars.

2 thoughts on “First Light

Comments are closed.