Comedy of errors


Murphy’s Law says, “Anything that can go wrong will go wrong.”

When everything goes wrong, do you ever just feel like its pouring rain around you in your life?

Last week on Thursday night I went to dinner with two of my close friends in Brisbane, deciding to stay the night at my mothers place instead of driving the 1 hour+ trip home to the Gold Coast.  My car happened to be running low on petrol, and I didn’t want to be stranded on the side of the road at midnight either if I ran out.

Friday morning I woke up at 3.30am, awake tossing and turning in bed until 5.30am, when the alarm sounded.  Showered, dressed and fed I left my mothers place half asleep with no time to make a coffee for the drive ahead.

Half way to work, the thought of  popping through home to grab a few things.  I might have time after work to exchange a gift at the local shopping centre.  With about 15-20 km left of my trip the fuel light started flashing at me, I have no idea how many km’s the flashing light indicates, I became a bit anxious. Arriving home, I took my overnight bag and handbag inside and left them on the bed, searched around for the items I would exchange and made a quick shopping list for milk and bread etc on my iPhone.  I left home with the bag of items, my iPhone and a set keys in my hands.

Where I park across the road from work I pass through a petrol station, pulled in and begin filling up the tank. $43 later, I reach for my wallet that normally would be sitting on the front passenger seat in my handbag, where is it?  Ohhhhh Shhhiiiitttt! I’ve left it at home on my bed. *face palm*.  I line up at the cashier, having no idea what to say to the attendant.

“Hi, I forgot my wallet…. I’ve accidentally left it at home, now do I sort this out to pay for my fuel?”.  He stared at me, “how much is your necklace worth?”.  I grabbed at my christian cross and the letter D my grandma had given me as gifts before she passed, I wear my necklace every day.

“I’m sorry, I can’t leave my necklace with you, I just can’t! I live ten minutes away I can return home and come straight back”.  He continued to stare at me for a while.

“How about your iPhone, those are worth a lot of money.”  the attendant said.

“Take it!” , handing the iPhone over the counter, “I will be right back, DON’T loose it!”.

Driving back home I wanted to hit my head against the window.  How stupid could I be? I’m so mad with myself.  How did I forget to pick up my handbag.

15 minutes later I returned to the petrol station and made my payment, receiving my phone back and thanking the attendant for being so understanding.

An awful start to a Friday.  Retelling the story to work colleagues I am starting to finally could laugh at my own expense.

Mars on life.