Being 29


Tomorrow will mark 6 months until my 30th Birthday.  This got me thinking what have I enjoyed about being 29 years old over the past 6 months, my list:

  1. I generally give less of a sh*t about peoples perspective of me.
  2. 9 PM has become a socially acceptable bedtime. *Yawns*
  3. When you’re around younger people, you can still claim “being in your twenties,” but you can also hang around thirty-somethings with ease.
  4. Cider’s are delicious. 
  5. You can look back on your twenty-something heartbreaks as learning experiences, and not just soul-crushing acts of emotional sadism.
  6. Gossip bothers me much less.
  7. I’ve made a wise decision of investing in good pillows and bed sheets.
  8. I don’t feel the need to join every single new social media network.
  9. All my friends are just as tired as I am.
  10. I have no problem telling people to go away and stop annoying me.
  11. No one will judge me for ordering white wine at a bar.
  12. I don’t have to care about knowing what an “Avicii” is.
  13. I’m old enough to remember Friends, and can still enjoy Transformer’s.
  14. Getting ready now takes <5 minutes less.
  15. I spend less money on stupid stuff.
  16. I’ve stopped pretending that an ill-fated hookup can’t mess with my emotions in the same way as a failed relationship.
  17. I wear undies that are comfortable.
  18. There is no one way to live your life.
  19. I’m willing to pay extra for a nice hotel room, but equally as happy to pay less for a bargain.
  20. If I have a crush on someone, I just tell them.
  21. I recall my early twenties…and wonder what the hell was I thinking.
  22. I’ve stopped lying about having seen a certain movie or read a certain book.
  23. Weekends don’t have to involve any plans besides CHILLING TO THE MAX.
  24. I’ve learned to take everything a lot less personally. *shrugs*
  25. When one of my friends complains about their dating drama, I’m just glad I don’t put up with petty crap anymore.
  26. I remember watching actual music videos on MTV and VH1.
  27. Go to a movie/bar/cafe by myself without feeling weird.
  28. The idea of having a kid — still freaks me out JUST as much.
  29. I’m e not scared of turning 30, because I’m more confident in who I am then when I turned 20.

…OK, maybe I’m a teensy bit scared.

Mars on Life.