I’m not ignoring everybody


Most of my readers know I have had a goal of adding a comic/anime strip for my blog for some time now.  Monday, I had a great idea pop into my head, I have been attached to my desk, ignoring texts, emails, chats for a few days now while I’ve been writing up character profiles, plot timelines and sketching characters and backgrounds.

Most of my closest friends noticed this and have been asking ‘why are you being so quiet?’. Yes, it’s quiet unusual.  I must be plotting to take over the world.

I have an idea, it’s time consuming, mum pops her head into my study asking if I’m coming down for dinner, to spend time with my dog. I have no interest in these activities, I’m consumed by my idea, and the thoughts are rushing from my brain through my hand and onto paper.

I’m as guilty as anyone. I’ve tried lots of dif­fe­rent things over the years, trying to complete personal goals, mostly to do with my artwork.  I want to make an awe inspiring anime, nothing seemed good enough. After one false start too many, I was beginning to just gave up on the idea.

Monday eve­ning,  Sit­ting at my desk chatting online, fee­ling a bit bur­ned out by work and life in gene­ral, I just star­ted dra­wing on a post-it note for no rea­son. I didn’t really need a rea­son. I just did it because it was there, because it amu­sed me in a kind of ran­dom way.  I sketched a castle on a mountain above a forest on this post-it, titling it Phoenix City after my love affair with Fenghuang (translated to Phoenix Town) in China. Then it all came to me, settings, plot, characters of what was going to be one of my greatest life achievements.

An so, with a working title of “The Empire of Star“, I am at the beginnings, and nowhere close to a foreseeable end of my dreams of creating a graphic novel.

Ever­yone is born crea­tive; ever­yone is given a box of cra­yons in kindergarten.”

Mars

2 thoughts on “I’m not ignoring everybody

  1. I was suggested this blog by my cousin. I’m not sure whether this post is written by him as nobody else know such detailed about my difficulty. You are wonderful! Thanks!

Comments are closed.