Dating Etiquette


I’ve been gossiping with a girlfriend about an upcoming date. What was I going to wear? Where are we going? What time? Am I driving? What’s he like? How did we meet?

It’s the day of the date, I’m feeling excited about going out this evening to see him again. The date was arranged on Sunday, today I expected a confirmation text since we haven’t spoken since arranging the date.  We are meeting tonight for drinks.  I asked my girlfriend should I send a text confirming we are still catching up an hour before.  She said “I would…I’m sure it will still be on, but just in case he is hospital or something I would double-check” – I had a chuckle to myself and decided I agreed, I’ve been canceled on before within an hour of the pick up time, which annoyed me greatly considering I was all dress up … with nowhere to go.

We further discussing the rules of dating etiquette, us girls decided upon a few we think are easy and acceptable for men to follow:

Rule 1:  Men always ask the girl out on a date, with a venue and date in mind.

Rule 2:  Always confirm the date via email or text at least 6 hours prior.

Rule 3:  Always text/email/call within 24 hours of the date to advise if you had a good time and would like to see us again. (Only if your interested).

Rule 4:  Don’t wear thongs to a date, unless it’s a beach date.

Rule 5:  Pubs are not date venues, think cocktail bars, restaurants, round of putt putt.

Rule 6:  Girls don’t want to meet your friends or family until ‘we‘ are officially official.

Rule 7:  Make sure I get home safely.

Rule 8:  You absolutely must pay for every date you ask me out on.

Rule 9:  You have to ask a girl to be your official girlfriend, before anything is really official.

Lucky my date confirmed our meeting as I was leaving work for the day, with the little bit of dating advice I’ve given, I’m off to see my date!  Wonder if he would agree 😛

Mars

2 thoughts on “Dating Etiquette

  1. I am not sure where you are getting your info, but good topic. I needs to spend some time learning much more or understanding more. Thanks for excellent info I was looking for this information for my mission.

Comments are closed.