Holiday’s are Over – I’m Getting Back into a Routine


I’ve left China Behind me, Back to Reality!

I’ve been home from my holiday in China for 11 days, returning to Brisbane with a China Man head cold and cough I picked up overseas, after little sleep from snoring passengers and 4 hours of delay’s on top of my long flight home…. I was exhausted to say the least.  Excited to be home, extremely sad to have left China behind, but my holiday’s had done what I needed them to do, reset my mindset, get back to being myself after a rough couples of months and the loss of my grandma before I left.

Returning home to reality felt like a warped 32Bit Video game, none of the levels matched up, my mind couldn’t compute simple conversations, failed attempts at outputting responses, sleepy for days, sick with a head cold, living like a zombie, an out-of-body experience, a hazy daydream, I was trying to recover from jet lag and adjust back to my normal daily routines.

I started to feel anxious, stressed out on Saturday after attempting to have a normal day out with a friend at lunch and movies. I was tuning in and out of reality, nodding off with my eyes wide open and conversation on my part was a struggle to find the correct words to construct a sentence.  oh dear…. I have to go back to work on Tuesday… what am I going to do?  After seeing Looper with my friend he dropped me home and I made myself stay awake until 8.30pm.  I set an alarm for 5am, my new waking up time for Spring/Summer fitness session.

I woke up at 5am… still feeling extremely sleepy, sick and sookie, I made myself breakfast and let the dogs come back to bed with me, watched some TV and fell asleep for two hours.  It is 9am and I feel ready to be awake again ready to start the day and spend some time with my family at Bribie Island, arriving home at 9.30pm and going to bed.  I set the same alarm on Monday morning, manage to stay awake this time but still spend the morning in bed sick,  I spent the day finishing unpacking, buying pavers, lunch with my brother, cleaning up my rooms and chatting to friends online about my adventures.  After mum’s birthday dinner Monday night, I take my sleepy head to bed at 10pm.  Work Tuesday morning was a blur, I daydreamed about being back in my bed asleep all day, I’ve never missed my bed that much before.

I have found waking up at 5am is not a problem.  My problem is waking up and getting out of bed to do fitness straight away.  It’s not a big issue if I don’t jump back into my fitness training right away, it’s just something I want to do for myself.  I’ve got triathlon’s over the coming weeks and months that I need to prepare for.  The dogs have been enjoying the extra company with me, each afternoon I feel bad about laying in bed awake until 6am before getting ready for work , that I take them out for a 30 minute walk each afternoon,  Wednesday afternoon I enjoyed a swim at the pool also.

Having to get back into the routine of work, fitness, and daily life in general can be a source of distress, disorientation and discomfort, but other than the overwhelming tiredness, I feel really happy about being back.  I missed and love my job, this is what I want to do with my life, I have returned to my studies feeling more motivated than ever to complete my Certificate in Project Management.  I am confident in my ability to train at the next level once I begin getting out of bed and out the door at 5am.  I am in love with the person I am, and I have a clearer view about where I see myself in the future, what I want, need, and ideas of how to achieve it.

While it may be unpleasant, returning back to normal life after holiday’s can be overcome with a little determination…. and good sleep.

Mars.