’50 Shades of Grey’ in the Office


So the ‘old biddies’ in our office have all been reading the ’50 Shades of Grey’ series.  I have not read it yet, I don’t know what I’m missing out on erotically, and I was even told by the old biddies, “It has bondage in it…you WOULDN’T understand…”.

Really, this 27 year old women wouldn’t understand. My reply, “Yeah…bondage…silk rope wrap around your writs does the job extremely well, sometimes they hurt, so you have to be into a bit of pain….”

….Crickets…. office wide…. I wonder if the Director heard me?  I’ve overstepped the mark of what can not be discussed in the office out loud.

Since the old biddies began reading the series two weeks ago, I enter the office at the early hour of 7.25 am to hear them loudly whisper bits of the three books that got them a ‘little excited down there’…. if you get the drift.  I’ve overhead one of the old biddies say in embarrassment, “I was sitting next to my husband on the couch, reading pages and pages of erotic sex, I was getting so excited, and then realised how wrong it was to be reading this next to my husband who was watching TV“.

Seriously!! If I was to read this book next to a partner and I felt any type of sexual urge, the book would be thrown to the floor as I straddle him initiating my own sexual fantasies.  Much more interesting then any book, don’t you agree?

So do I try (again) to read the series? Last time, I got about 20 pages in, before discarding it because of the author’s writing style.

Tell me, is it worth the read, for any other reason than for me to be able to discuss with the old biddies of the office?

Mars