Mooloolaba Olympic Distance Triathalon


I’m EXCITED – Today I signed up to my first Olympic Distance Triathlon!

How I feel about the Race and Training – July 2012

Swim – 1500m (one lap in the waters off Mooloolaba Beach) – Upon my return from China Late September, I am preparing to start from scratch, and learn to swim again, basically teach myself to manage a swim for 45 min straight.  I expect it will take me 45 mins to complete the distance required.  Hopefully I can improve my estimated time.

Cycle – 40km (one lap undulating out and back course) – Good feelings about the cycle.  I’ve done a fair amount of casual riding with friends of this distance, I now need to learn to get my speed up and keep it there in a “race environment”.  A fair amount of Brick Sessions will be required to get use to cycling 40km, and then running 10km.  Also require to cycle hilly roads, the Brisbane river loop is perfect to train on.

Run – 10km (undulating two lap course along The Esplanade, Mooloolaba) – I feel the final leg, the run is sorted.  I intend to include more hills, and hill sprint session into my program.

Triathlon Off Season – Winter Training Program – From 3 July 2012

The 8 1/2 weeks I have left between now and leaving for China on August 31st, training will be focused mainly on weight training, riding, brick sessions and running.

  • Monday – Run
  • Tuesday – Weights
  • Wednesday – Cycle – Wind Trainer
  • Thursday – Weights
  • Friday – Run and Core exercises
  • Saturday – Cycle and Run off Bike
  • Sunday – Run 

Triathlon Training From 1 October 2012

Once I’m back from China, Its will be time for me to start incorporating swimming back into the mix.

  • Monday – Weights AM – Swim PM
  • Tuesday – Run AM
  • Wednesday – Cycle – Wind Trainer, Run off Bike AM
  • Thursday – Weights AM – Swim PM
  • Friday – Run and Core exercise AM
  • Saturday – Cycle and Run off Bike AM
  • Sunday – Run AM

Triathlon Races before Mooloolabah

Deciding a Sprint Distance Triathlon every two months in the lead up to Mooloolabah on 17th March, should be enough pre-race training to fine tune my transition times, and decide what equipment and nutrition is and is not working for me.  All Triathlons will take place on Bribie Island:

  • 14 October 2012
  • 9 December 2012
  • 10 February 2012
  • 3 March 2012

I love being organised and having a game plan, it has always worked for me in the past to achieve my goals.  Going to be one hell of a year ahead!

Mars