Why I love Paris, Yet I’ve Never Been There.


Ah, Paris, the city of lights.  I’ve never been there, although I have been dreaming of Paris for many nights recently.

In my dreams, I walk around the city by day with my dog Cooper on a leash and smile and think how lucky I am to live here in a studio apartment close to the centre of town. Studying the architecture, layout, beauty of the city.

By night I am found having a drink, in a little black dress and heels, in an upmarket bar, I’m all alone. Unsure if I’m looking for love, I enjoy the moments of solitude between meeting couples, new faces and taking part in chit-chat, I’m enjoying the surroundings, jazz music, atmosphere, all awhile I secretly feel as though someone is with me, like a ghosts presence following me around Paris.

My ‘Paris’ recurring dreams, puzzle me, but ‘I Love Paris’ and these are the reasons why:

  1. Eiffel Tower – Once the tallest structure in the world,The Eiffel Tower is the most recognisable landmark in Paris and is known worldwide as a symbol of France.


  2. The Canal Saint Martinis – I believe this would be a picturesque place to take a stroll, ride a bike or have a picnic.


  3. The Quirky boutiques, restaurants and café, deli’s, pastries and more!


  4. The History of Paris in the 1920’s – Artist from America and the world flocked to Paris during the II World War – Scott and Zelda Fitzgerald, Hemingway, Cole Porter, Picasso, Salvador Dalí, T. S. Eliot, Djuna Barnes, Josephine Baker, Luis Buñuel, Man Ray.  I have longed to travel back in time to the sizzling Paris of the 1920s. Oh! and the Fashion of the 20’s in Paris.
    “Let’s Do It! (Let’s Fall In Love)” – Cole Porter

     

  5. le Cathédrale Notre-Dame – Notre Dame de Paris is widely considered one of the finest examples of French Gothic architecture in France.  The cathedral suffered desecration during the radical phase of the French Revolution in the 1790s, when much of its religious imagery was damaged or destroyed. An extensive restoration removed remaining decoration, returning the cathedral to an ‘original’ gothic state.

  6.  Picture yourself walking along the beautiful and romantic banks of the Seine – It is a 776 km long river and an important commercial waterway within the Paris Basin in the north of France.

  7. Soaking up art and culture at le Musée du Louvre.

  8. French is a beautiful language, and great care is taken grammatically and orally to preserve the sound of the language. I would say it is overwhelmingly the language of love. I myself have studied French for 4 years in high school.

  9. Paris in the rain – I’ve always disliked the rain, I can picture how drop dead gorgeous this city is in the rain. I Imagine this town in the rain, getting my hair wet holding my lovers hand while taking a stroll through Paris in the rain.

  10. Paris is the Symbol of Love – And tres romantique! I wonder how a whole city could be romantic. I’m sure it’s just like in the movies.  Beautiful couples walking together holding hands, laughing, tossing their tousled hair around, snuggling closely in cafes and kissing. Picnic’s by candlelight along the River Seine, or under the flashing lights of the Eiffel Tower. Even though a lot of Parisians consider the Tower to be an eyesore, I believe love is why so many choose this romantic spot to once again declare their love for each other to the world (I dream of one day being proposed to in Paris).

I plan to visit the UK first and see it’s highlights, I wish to make myself pine for Paris, like pining for a  long-lost lover at war, finally found and being returned home to you.

“If you are lucky enough to have lived in Paris as a young man, then wherever you go for the rest of your life, it stays with you, for Paris is a moveable feast.” – Ernest Hemingway

Mars.

2 thoughts on “Why I love Paris, Yet I’ve Never Been There.

Comments are closed.