Mars Movie Reviews – A Thousand Words


 

Movie Info: Eddie Murphy is Jack McCall, a fast-talking literary agent, who can close any deal, any time, any way. He has set his sights on New Age guru Dr. Sinja (Cliff Curtis) for his own selfish purposes. But Dr. Sinja is on to him, and Jack’s life comes unglued after a magical Bodhi tree mysteriously appears in his backyard. With every word Jack speaks, a leaf falls from the tree and he realizes that when the last leaf falls, both he and the tree are toast. Words have never failed Jack McCall, but now he’s got to stop talking and conjure up some outrageous ways to communicate or he’s a goner. — (C) Paramount

Mars Review:  The idea of Murphy, that famously motormouthed actor, suddenly tongue-tied is not a punchy enough punch line to carry a whole film, without the words to go along with his bug-eyed double-takes Murphy’s lost here… He’s never been a silent comic, and never will be.  It isn’t a horrible movie, at least not in comparison to Norbit from the same star and director. But there is a surprising sweetness and sincerity that manifests during the third act, enough to acquit the film of charges of cynicism. Its crimes against comedy, however, are not so easily forgiven.

Stars: 1 out of 5

One thought on “Mars Movie Reviews – A Thousand Words

  1. I haven’t seen the movie yet but thanks for your review on it. I actually rented it on Blockbuster @Home the other day so I should be getting it in the mail soon. I even got it in Blu-ray which didn’t cost me anything extra. I have read a few reviews about A Thousand Words where they thought it was decent even my Dish co-workers thought it was sweet. I’ll have to watch it to see what I think.

Comments are closed.