Training Sessions – 30 April to 7 May 2012


Another week of fitness, and a few nights of socializing.  Off season training is actually more fun then season training, I don’t have to do the exercise, I WANT to do the exercise!

Here’s how my week went:

Monday – I took the dogs for a 3km walk after hurting my knee the day before falling over in the mud, my knee was still feeling a bit stiff and sore.  After the walk I booted up my Macbook, completed a 30 minute session of the Michelle Bridges Tight, Toned and Terrific DVD which includes toning and weight exercises for the whole body.  My arms hurt for two days after this!

Tuesday – Was speed dating night and did my normal walk to and from work.

Wednesday – Knee was feeling a lot better today, went out for a 30 minute straight run in prep for the 10km coming up in just 9 weeks at the Gold Coast…. Where has the time gone?  Felt great, and listened to Kanye West’s Graduation album.

Saturday – Was time for another ride in the afternoon, I did 50 minutes on the wind-trainer listening to my iPod on shuffle.  The time flew by, changing my intensity from easy, tempo and hard.  Deciding it was a bit to hot to go for a 20 minute run afterwards I set up the Michelle Bridges DVD again in the air conditioning, enjoyed a great work out with some stretches after.

Monday – Time to get up at 6.15am, shower, do my make up (Yes, I’m that vain), and head out for a 30km ride with a friend of mine.  We left my place and drove over to his at Bulimba, lovely suburb with a strip of cafe’s, stores and a few bars, we left his place for an easy ride.  Heading down the main road, we tackled a few hills, the main goal was to reach the Gateway Bridge and come back through Hamilton, Tenneriffe, over the Story Bridge, Kangaroo point  back to Bulimba.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Reaching the top of the Gateway it was beautiful to look over the Brisbane river out to the ocean, my friend commented its a pity the bike-way was not on the other side of the bridge to get a view of Brisbane city, which truthfully would have been a photographers dream.

Mars.