Manga University – Lesson 1, Drawing 2


I the first lesson of Manga University  home study course, I began to learn to draw by studying previously created manga characters, by trying to copy and draw them myself, however comes naturally.

I have so far sketched the below image from printouts of  manga characters.

Taking some notes about how I am paying attention to the originals, I have noticed I struggle with eyes, as I feel I’m unsure of the characters emotions, or situation they are placed in. Body shape and clothing are barriers for me, that I spent a large amount of time with the details and measurements and shape. Shading is the fun part at the end to make the characters pop and look more life-like.

Asuka from Neon Genesis Evangelion
Asuka from Neon Genesis Evangelion

Mars.

3 thoughts on “Manga University – Lesson 1, Drawing 2

    1. Did I do her justice? Working on another project at the same time but wanted to complete her since I may name my 2nd daughter after her one day lol

Comments are closed.