My Final Triathlon for the 2011/2012 Season


In 7 days I will be participating at the Gold Coast Triathlon, the last Triathlon of the 2011/2012 season.  I have entered the Enticer Triathlon (300m Swim/10km Bike/2.5km Run), as I would love to spend the Saturday and Sunday running around Supanova on the Gold Coast, dressed as Phoenix from X-men and meeting Edward James Olmos.

Since finishing the Bribie Island Sprint Distance Triathlon in March I have not exactly been sticking to my training plan due to family illness, my own illness and feeling sad and upset.  The last two weeks I’ve picked up my game with cycling and running sessions, these are my strengths. Yet, as a wise man once said ‘Build up your weaknesses until they become your strong points.’  My weakness is swimming.

Friends continue to give advice on joining a swimming squad, I have one in mind to join (Aqualicious). It now a matter of plucking up some courage and attending my first session.

I have not entered the water since the Bribie Triathlon (oops!), I now realized I MUST make this week count by attending the pool at least twice to practice swimming and my stroke, no matter now afraid I am feeling.  Any encouragement this week is more than welcomed!!

Last minute Training:

Monday – Swim 1km

Tuesday – Night off, Movie Night

Wednesday – Cycle and Run off bike

Thursday – Swim 1k

Friday – Run Session

Sticking to this plan will keep me on track for a great performance Sunday.  My goals for Sunday are to reduce my times in the Bike and Run legs, and complete the Triathlon within 40-42 minutes. I’m beginning to feel excited about these goals!

Hope you can all cheer me on Sunday morning wherever you are!

Mars on Life.