How to Live Without Facebook for 100 Days?


You may notice the headline for today’s post, How to Live Without Facebook for 100 Days?, is in the form of a question; not a statement. The reason for this is because I don’t know the answer. But, I want to find out.

My attempt to go 100 days without Facebook will not erase my tendencies to social and it certainly will not give me any more ground to stand on if I am indeed successful. I just want to see if I can do it.

Too often, I have reached for Facebook to sooth my anxiety, cheer me up, brag or to make me feel more comfortable when I’m with people I don’t know well, for example: sitting on my iPhone checking Facebook and listening to conversations.

Now, I want to try to experience life without Facebook, go back to my life before Facebook, and all of these things without the usual daily Facebook interactions. My inner voice, my inner wisdom, has been suggesting this to me for some time now. It’s time to listen.

Day One starts Thursday, 28th of July 2011. Day 100 will be on Saturday, 5th of November 2011. How I live the days in between will be the challenge. I really don’t have a roadmap or any past experience to draw on for these 100 days. All I have is determination and a hope I will learn new things about myself.

I’m not sure what will happen on November 5th. I can’t say if I will ever use Facebook again or at what level and frequency. I do, however, have faith and confidence in whatever happens between now and then will be the right things for me. So, a leap of faith begins.

Here’s my plan for living 100 days without Facebook. Please share other ideas you think would be helpful:

Ask for help

By making this very public announcement, I’m asking to be held accountable for my actions. I’m also asking for help, and I’m sure I will ask for help many more times over the next 100 days. Some things in our lives are much bigger than we are.

Pride and arrogance contribute to our failure when we fail to ask for help. Ironically, it takes confidence and courage to ask. Confidence in that we believe there are people in our lives who care enough to listen and support us. Courage in the sense we want to keep moving forward in spite of the obstacles and pain.

Find alternatives

It will be difficult finding alternatives when sitting at a bus stop or waiting for an appointment. For me it’s just been a matter of habit; a matter of comfort to sit on Facebook chatting, reading status updates and posting locations and photo’s.

Just as the physical act of Facebook is a habit, so is the dependency on the social effect that Facebook provides. Therefore, I may substitute Facebook for a iPhone game, reading threads, but more importantly, I will need to discover alternatives to finding comfort and peace. This will be the biggest challenge and hopefully the greatest opportunity for me.

Investing more time in reading, writing, improving relationships, exercising and just thinking are likely candidates right now. I know a certain degree of peace in my life can be rejuvenated and restored by investing in these areas. I’m also certain I will find comfort by learning how to take better care of myself.

Live one day at a time

Recently I spent a month not drinking and some days were easier than others because it wasn’t my habit to drink everyday. Typically, I would not drink alcohol during the week. It would be the weekends, or being in a restaurant with friends that I found the most challenging. There is also the Ekka planned for later in August that will undoubtedly give me some concern, I know I will want to post photos, status updates and locations details. However, the cliché take it one day at time is the best advice I can try to follow during this event.

To go 100 days without Facebook will require making a conscious choice each and every time I’m confronted with the temptation. It’s not so much about setting a 100 day plan, but rather setting and living a moment-by-moment plan. It is my hope all of these moments of making the deliberate decision to resist the temptation will all contribute to the final result I’m seeking.

Contact Me

Please contact me during the 100 days via the mobile and email listed on my Facebook account. I also will continue too use my blog for updates.

Take a leap of faith

During the times when I’m not feeling particularly confident, I will attempt to step back and ask what a stronger and more confident person would do in this situation. The answer will be there to cling to if I choose. So, knowing this, a leap begins.

One thought on “How to Live Without Facebook for 100 Days?

Comments are closed.