The Social Network


I saw The Social Network tonight, and are happy to say Hollywood is back on its feet.  Finally a drama based on a True Story with a very carefully written script, keeping to the foundation of Facebook and its beginning without the urge to go off in other directions regarding Privacy scandals etc that have infiltrated the news headlines in recent years.  Sticking only to the Story of Facebook, that should be told in all its glory.  Trust, Misfortune, Love, Lies all show their ugly faces throughout The Social Network.

After taking in every word, every logic, every attention to detail…. it’s so true.  I want to connect with people, tell them who I am in a relationship with, where I live, what my job is, my likes.  My friends, family, co-workers, Places and things I like.  Show people what I am doing, be the editor of my own life. Tag my photo’s, connect my blog to it, show off my puppy to whomever I want from my very own Wall.  I may personally only have 43 Friends on Facebook, yet they are 43 people I want to continually connect with everyday without even picking up the phone.

I admit. I’m addicted, send me straight  to Facebook Anonymous meetings. I would check Facebook more than I would check how I look in a mirror.  Owning an iPhone makes accessing it even easier to share, take a photo and upload it.  I can tell people where I have checked in instantly, and most importantly I can connect with my friends 24/7.

Facebook being a well maintained and managed website comes great respect for the amount of energy, effort, determination to make Facebook run like a well oiled machine, to become the #1 most used website in the World.  The Social Network has done Facebook justice.  The producers could learn a lesson from their own script.

Drop the “the”. Just “Social Network”. It’s cleaner.

4/5 Stars

Mars on Life